John Payne became the frontman of the supergroup ASIA in 1992 at the invitation of keyboardist Geoff Downes, replacing vocalist/bassist John Wetton. With John Payne fronting the band, ASIA released 8 stunning studio albums, several live albums, a live DVD and toured the world extensively for 14 years.

In 2006, Geoff Downes left the band to reform the 1982 line up for their 25th anniversary. On the 9th of May 2006, John Payne, Geoff Downes, John Wetton, Carl Palmer and Steve Howe contractually agreed that John Payne would continue his 14 year legacy with ASIA as “ASIA Featuring John Payne”.

ASIA Featuring John Payne have been touring in North America since 2008. In 2009 the band released an EP entitled “Military Man”. A new studio album entitled “Americana” is planned for release in 2013; the first single “Seasons Will Change” was released in December 18, 2012.

The ASIA Featuring John Payne logo was designed by John Payne and rendered by Tracy McCrite and Erik Nielsen.

ASIA Featuring John Payne is:

John Payne (lead vocals, bass)
Jay Schellen (drums, backing vocals)
Erik Norlander (keyboards, backing vocals)
Moni Scaria (guitars, backing vocals)
Jeff Kollman (guitars, backing vocals)

John PayneJOHN PAYNE – Vocals, Bass

Vocalist/bassist, guitarist, recording engineer, songwriter and producer John Payne fronted ASIA for 14 years replacing John Wetton in 1992. Eight studio albums, a live DVD and 6 live albums followed including extensive world touring and recording with the band. In 2006, John formed “ASIA Featuring John Payne” and continues to perform and record in this configuration. Previous to ASIA, John sang with Roger Daltrey, CCCP, ELO Part 2 and more recently GPS, Lisa Larue and Lunatica.  He has done work for film, TV and stage, including playing the Parson in Jeff Wayne’s The War Of The Worlds stadium tour.

photo by Josh Krause

Jay SchellenJAY SCHELLEN – Drums

Drummer Jay Schellen joined as ASIA’s drummer in 2005, toured in Europe with the band and recorded the album ASIA Featuring John Payne EXTENDED VERSIONS for Sony in 2006 when he remained with ASIA Featuring John Payne.

Before joining ASIA, Jay played drums for Hurricane, Unruly Child, Badfinger, Firewolfe and Conspiracy with Chris Squire from Yes. Jay also records and gigs with CIRCA: featuring former Yes members Billy Sherwood and Tony Kaye. Along with John Payne, Jay is a founding member of GPS.

photo by Erik Nielsen

Erik NorlanderERIK NORLANDER – Keyboards

Keyboardist Erik Norlander joined ASIA Featuring John Payne in November of 2007. Erik’s evocative synthesizer technique is reminiscent of the legendary Rick Wakeman, Keith Emerson and Jon Lord while still very unique made him an obvious choice for the band. A diligent collector of vintage analog synths and a designer of modern digital instruments enables Erik to use the best of both worlds. He is key supporter of the Bob Moog Foundation. His works include over 25 releases with wife Lana Lane, groups Rocket Scientists and Galactic Collective and solo titles.

photo by Neal Hamilton

Moni ScariaMONI SCARIA – Guitar

Guitarist Moni Scaria has performed with the band WWIII and on projects with Joey Vera and Kidneythieves. John Payne had this to say about Moni’s guitar expertise: “Having recently moved to Los Angeles, I was impressed by the standard of guitarists at local clubs. I first saw Moni play in Burbank in 2004. I was so taken by both his guitar playing and vocals. In 2008 I asked him to fill in for Guthrie Govan on a live date. I was blown away by his skill and accuracy. I welcome Moni to the band.” Moni joined the band in June 2012.

photo by Erik Nielsen

Jeff KollmanJEFF KOLLMAN – Guitar

Guitarist Jeff Kollman was voted among the top 20 favorite guitarists in Young Guitar Magazines readers poll along side the likes of Santana, Jeff Beck, and Edward Van Halen. Jeff is an in demand session guitarist, co writer, and producer. Jeff has played and or recorded with a diverse range of acts including: Jill Scott, UFO, Lao Tizer, Michael Schenker, HTP, and most notably Glenn Hughes and Chad Smith. With his own groups Edwin Dare, Cosmosquad, JKB, Mogg/Way, Crumb Bros., Pervadelic, and The Bombastic Meatbats, Jeff’s original material covers a wide variety of hard rock, jazz, fusion and funk while his live performances are energetic and engaging. On his own label, Marmaduke Records, Kollman has written and produced 14 solo and band recordings including a live DVD with his band Cosmosquad. His film and TV credits include Sahara, Failure To Launch, Clerks 2, Fantastic 4, Eight Below, Rounders, Slither, Reaper, and Showtime’s “Masters of Horror” series. Jeff joined ASIA Featuring John Payne in June 2012.

Visit Jeff’s official website at:

Comments are closed.